logo rock nobgapp store badge  google play badge  amazon app store outline

listen live

icon instagramicon youtubeicon facebookicon twitter

Sleep Science was formed when vocalist/guitarist Taylor Nichol, bassist Dan Lomonaco and drummer Alex Moscrip

...all got together after working in many different bands and projects. Based in Vancouver, BC, they draw influences from all over to create their distinct, progressive/alternative-rock sound, which is hard-hitting, yet groovy, with deviant time signatures, articulate bass lines and wailing, sometimes ambient guitar work.

Eager to hit the studio almost immediately after forming, the band recorded their first EP Avoiding The Cure with Ryan Worsley, who’s produced acts including Dear Rouge, Derrival, and Little India. With their unique sound and tight live shows they started to build a loyal following on the West Coast. To kick off 2016, the guys flew down to LA and recorded their single Tears For The Money with Rick Parker (The Dandy Warhols, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Scott Weiland). The song has been featured on major rock radio stations across Canada and has been praised by Vancouver DJ Todd Handcock as being one of “the top 5 indie songs of 2016”. 

In 2017, Sleep Science took their show on the road for a successful cross Canada tour which took them as far east as Montreal. The band also headed back down to LA to record 3 more songs with Rick Parker. October saw the first single, Sounds of the Underground released to heavy plays and rave reviews. The song showcases the band’s ability to juxtapose heavy grunge rock with haunting melodies and tastefully executed arrangements. Screamer Magazine described the song as “a masterpiece of what really good indie rock music is all about" and Alternative Nation said that “it hits you in the face with Nirvana Riffage". Their followup single, We Could Never Be was co-written with producer Nygel Asselin (Half Moon Run) and is already generating attention after its release. Sleep Science has big plans for 2018 including international performances and returning to the studio to record their next EP.

Vocals, Guitar / Taylor Nichol
Bass / Dan Lomonaco
Drums / Alex Moscrip

Recently Played view all...

94.9 The Rock on Facebook

Latest Videos view all...

The Weather Network